Re: Time Outs

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ SoCalHoops Womens Forum ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Certified Official on December 04, 2017 at 00:05:23:

In Reply to: Re: Time Outs posted by Question for Official on December 03, 2017 at 19:07:33:

: : : : Rule interpretation--HS Level

: : : : Team A is up by 2 points.
: : : : Team B has the ball and shooter is fouled at the buzzer. Ref awards 2 FT's.
: : : : With no time on the clock can Team A coach call a time out? It was done at a game I saw on Saturday. I am sure the only reason it was done was to freeze the shooter.
: : : : Team B's player makes the first FT. Team A's coach calls another time out to again I am sure freeze the shooter.

: : : : The question is can a coach call a time out with no time on the clock? I have never seen it in basketball.

: : : : I tried looking for a rule on it but couldnt find it.

: : : The foul could not have occurred at the buzzer. Either there is time on the clock (0.01 sec) or the game ended before the foul. A player technically should not be shooting FTs with no time on the clock if they were fouled during the game. Time should be added to the clock.

: : You can call a time out because the game has not officially ended until the refs leave the floor. If the whistle is blown in the very last second of the game. The reaction of the clock operator will most likely not be able to stop the clock before it hits 0.0 without any official replay, you can't put any time on the clock.

: To clarify my first post. Player took shot with 2 seconds left and was fouled on the shot. The clock continues to run while the shot is in the air, and should run until the ball goes in or is rebounded. The buzzer has sounded and the player has been awarded two shots, fouled in the act of shooting, with time on the clock.
: Refs clear the lane from rebounders and only the shooter is there.

: You answered my question as the game hasnt officially ended so a time out can be called. I just wanted to clarify the scenario.

: Thanks

If the player was fouled with 2 seconds left and the whistle actually blew at that time but the timekeeper keeps the clock running, the referee can put time back on the clock. Most likely 1 second.

Follow Ups:

Post a Followup




Optional Link URL:
Link Title:
Optional Image URL:

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ SoCalHoops Womens Forum ] [ FAQ ]