Posted by Well on December 03, 2017 at 18:08:33:
In Reply to: Re: Time Outs posted by Question for Official on December 03, 2017 at 17:31:56:
: Rule interpretation--HS Level
: Team A is up by 2 points.
: Team B has the ball and shooter is fouled at the buzzer. Ref awards 2 FT's.
: With no time on the clock can Team A coach call a time out? It was done at a game I saw on Saturday. I am sure the only reason it was done was to freeze the shooter.
: Team B's player makes the first FT. Team A's coach calls another time out to again I am sure freeze the shooter.
: The question is can a coach call a time out with no time on the clock? I have never seen it in basketball.
: I tried looking for a rule on it but couldnt find it.
The foul could not have occurred at the buzzer. Either there is time on the clock (0.01 sec) or the game ended before the foul. A player technically should not be shooting FTs with no time on the clock if they were fouled during the game. Time should be added to the clock.
Post a Followup